Visite du glacier Matanuska

GLACIER MATANUSKA

Visite de 3 heures

Prix

$115/PERSON

+ Frais d'entrée au glacier

Niveau aventure
Très facile
Visites des glaciers (EASY)

Il s'agit de courtes marches avec des crampons sur les bottes. Pour s'adapter à la marche avec ces dispositifs, il faut se concentrer sur le placement des pieds et faire un effort conscient pour ne pas trébucher. La plupart des participants l'apprennent très rapidement. Le guide adapte l'itinéraire et la vitesse aux personnes les plus lentes et les moins athlétiques.

Voyage minimum
2 personnes
Réservation minimum
2 personnes

*Les célibataires sont priés d'appeler notre bureau pour connaître les disponibilités.

Localisation
Installation de Hicks Creek

38100 W Glenn Highway, Glacier View, AK 99674 *Mile 96.5

Dates
1er juin - 10 septembre
Limite d'âge
AGES 9 – 72
MAX. TAILLE/POIDS
250 LBS, CIRCONFÉRENCE 50 POUCES
Min. Taille de la chaussure
5 US Hommes/ 6 US Femmes

(pour adapter correctement les bottes et le matériel fournis).

Heure d'enregistrement
9:30am, 10:30am and 2:30pm
Durée de l'accord

Environ 2+ heures sur le glacier et 3+ heures au total.

Trip Highlights

No experience necessary!, Family friendly! Great for photos!, Easy hiking terrain., Exposure to the Ice-Falls., Walk across a Glacial Lake.

TRIP DESCRIPTION

AUCUNE EXPÉRIENCE N'EST NÉCESSAIRE !

Ce n'est pas tous les jours que l'on peut se promener tranquillement au pied d'un glacier de vallée qui s'avance sur 26 miles de long. Découvrez à pied les merveilles de l'un des glaciers les plus accessibles d'Alaska grâce au populaire Glacier Tour de NOVA. Vous serez équipé du matériel nécessaire et transporté en véhicule jusqu'au terminus du glacier, à l'entrée du parc. Nos guides expérimentés vous informeront et vous guideront à travers les champs de roches de la grande moraine terminale et jusqu'à l'impressionnante zone des "chutes de glace" du glacier Matanuska. Cette étendue de glace glaciaire dense tombe naturellement sur le dépôt rocheux submergé qui se trouve en dessous et se réfléchit vers le haut, créant des formations de flèches dentelées vers le haut, connues sous le nom de séracs. Un petit lac situé à l'avant des "chutes de glace" est le point de création de l'eau qui alimente une puissante rivière juste en aval. Le long du chemin, les vues sont constantes et les caractéristiques du glacier évoluent. Les erratiques, les moulins coulants et les profondes crevasses de ce glacier créent un paysage en constante évolution avec une géologie active tout autour. C'est une excursion fantastique pour les familles ou les groupes aux capacités et au confort variés.

Depending on the group’s abilities, fitness and relationship. The Glacier Tour is usually a 1:10 guide-to-client ratio, with multiple guides on larger tours. This is an easy rudimentary walk/hike with basic variable glacier terrain and features such as slippery rocks and ice. For those wanting more of a challenge on the glacier, check out our ‘Adventure Trek’ tour. Be sure to bring your water bottle to fill and drink some Glacier water! Along with a camera, jacket and sunglasses!

NOVA fournit toutes les excursions sur les glaciers et l'équipement en fonction de vos capacités physiques, de votre condition et de votre désir de marcher ou de faire de la randonnée. Voir ci-dessous pour plus de détails sur l'équipement.

NOVA dispose de petits dispositifs de traction en chaîne métallique appelés "creepers" qui peuvent également être utilisés avec vos propres chaussures de randonnée à semelle rigide (au-dessus de la cheville) en les fixant à la semelle inférieure avec du caoutchouc. Nous pouvons fournir des chaussures de randonnée aux groupes qui n'en ont pas.

  • Les cours d'eau et le temps peuvent parfois être froids en Alaska. Veuillez vous habiller de manière appropriée ou apporter des couches synthétiques chaudes et des chaussettes pour le confort de votre excursion. Les couches de coton ne sont pas préférables dans les environnements froids ou lorsqu'elles sont mouillées. Nous sommes en Alaska.
  • Veuillez apporter un imperméable et vos propres couches chaudes et confortables pour aller sur la glace. Une fois que vous vous déplacez sur le glacier, il est difficile de faire des pauses pour aller aux toilettes.
Glacier Park fee
*PARC DE GLAÇONNIER Droit d'entrée

Le Matanuska Glacier Park est une propriété privée qui fait payer chaque personne à chaque fois qu'elle franchit la porte ; les laissez-passer de l'État de l'Alaska ne sont pas valables. Les laissez-passer de l'État de l'Alaska ne s'appliquent pas. Cette entreprise a mis en place une politique d'interdiction des DRONE sur le glacier.

  • Regular entry fee at MGP gate is $45 per person.
    • Adolescents (13-16 ans) : $25
    • Adults (17+): $45
    • Résidents de l'Alaska, militaires et personnes âgées (65+) : 30
Cancellation Policy

Please arrive 15 minutes early to sign Nova's trip waiver.

If you are late for your trip there is a chance, we will have to leave without you. If so, we will do our best to reschedule your trip at no additional cost. If you are not interested in rescheduling then missing your trip is considered an absence, resulting in no refund.

This applies to but is not limited to unforeseen circumstances such as unexpected illness or emergencies. We pride ourselves on our professionalism, excellent customer service, and the best guided trips in Alaska. All we ask is that you show up on time for check-in.

Risques inhérents

Les voyages sur les glaciers et les activités de plein air comportent des risques inhérents que chacun doit accepter et comprendre. Les terrains variables, les rochers pointus, la glace glissante et les conditions météorologiques changeantes sont monnaie courante. Certains risques de sécurité existeront toujours et échappent au contrôle de l'homme. Les clivages et les déplacements importants, les chutes de cercueils, les crevasses ouvertes et les moulins qui s'écoulent peuvent être dangereux et mortels. Le sauvetage dans ces environnements et ces caractéristiques n'est pas seulement technique et difficile, mais dans certains cas, il n'est pas possible du tout. Les normes de sécurité sont en place pour ces raisons et doivent être respectées. Les guides gèrent les risques en interprétant le terrain et en reconnaissant les dangers que les randonneurs et les visiteurs ordinaires ne connaissent pas. De nombreuses personnes voyageant sur la glace ont un faux sentiment de sécurité en raison de la nature accueillante du glacier et de ses moraines. Les personnes qui voyagent sur le glacier sans guide doivent posséder les connaissances, l'expérience et l'équipement nécessaires.

**Tous les participants à nos excursions doivent suivre nos directives et procédures et signer une décharge. Seuls les parents ou les tuteurs légaux peuvent signer pour les jeunes mineurs. Les enfants en bas âge ne sont pas autorisés à participer à nos excursions. Les animaux de compagnie ne sont pas autorisés à participer à nos excursions.

Réductions

Local Alaskans with proof of State issued ID at tour check-in receive a 10% single discount off the individual tour price.

Make it a COMBO: Add a whitewater rafting trip and save 10% off the highest cost trip!. Add a Matanuska Glacier adventure and save 10% off the highest cost trip! This glacier tour is located in the same area of Alaska as our ‘Lionshead’ rafting tour, great for same day combos.

**Discounts only apply to clients participating on both trips

**Les réductions sont appliquées lors de l'enregistrement du voyage et le solde est dû.

ADDITIONAL INFO
  • NOVA est un défenseur et un gardien de la nature sauvage en Alaska. Nous vous invitons à voyager de manière responsable et à ne pas laisser de traces lorsque vous visitez ces lieux étonnants.
  • Les excursions de NOVA se déroulent quelles que soient les conditions météorologiques, il pleut ou il fait soleil en Alaska.
    Les glaciers et le temps peuvent parfois être froids en Alaska. Veuillez vous habiller de manière appropriée ou apporter un imperméable, des couches synthétiques chaudes et des chaussettes pour le confort de votre excursion. Les couches de coton ne sont pas préférables dans les environnements froids ou lorsqu'elles sont mouillées.
  • NOVA ne propose pas de visites guidées à travers ou sous les grottes de glace pendant les mois chauds de l'été.
  • Les glaciers sont très actifs en été et les grottes ne sont pas sûres et doivent être évitées en raison du risque d'effondrement. Les grottes ne sont pas toujours présentes ou accessibles et ne doivent être approchées qu'avec prudence, de préférence en hiver lorsqu'elles sont les plus stables.
  • Une fois que vous vous déplacez sur le glacier, il est difficile de faire des pauses dans les toilettes.
LOCATION

DÉPART DE : HICKS CREEK, MAT-SU VALLEY

38100 W Glenn Highway, Glacier View, AK 99674

Situé à 96,5 miles au nord d'Anchorage, il s'agit de la zone d'étape pour toutes les excursions sur le glacier Matanuska et sur la rivière.

Visite du glacier Matanuska

Réserver

|

Commentaires élogieux

Témoignages

Nous avons fait une randonnée très agréable et instructive avec Mattie et Carson sur le glacier Matanuska. Le glacier était impressionnant et les informations fournies par nos guides Nova l'ont rendu encore plus intéressant. Une randonnée guidée sur le glacier est sans aucun doute la meilleure façon de le voir !

Gregory M. | Date du voyage : juillet 2020

Nous avons adoré notre randonnée de 3 heures sur le glacier avec Maddie, une guide extraordinaire. Nous avons eu le glacier pour nous seuls, car nous étions le seul groupe sur le glacier à 19 h. Maddie nous a présenté des faits intéressants sur le glacier, en nous emmenant à différents endroits. Maddie nous a fait part de faits intéressants sur le glacier, en nous emmenant dans différentes parties. La grotte de glace a été une surprise et le point fort de notre voyage. Hautement recommandé lors d'un séjour en Alaska !

Date du voyage : juillet 2019

Le meilleur de tous les temps ! Arnie et Maddie ont été fantastiques, expérimentés, compétents et amusants. Nous sommes allés plus loin que prévu dans le glacier et avons vu des vues incroyables, tout en apprenant et en riant ! A recommander vivement !

Flynn T. | Date du voyage : Septembre 2020

Matanuska Glacier Tour

MATANUSKA GLACIER

3 Hour Tour

Price

$95/PERSON

+ Glacier Entrance Fee

Adventure Level
Very Easy
Glacier Tours (EASY)

These are short walks with crampons on your boots. Adjusting to walking with these devices takes focus on foot placement and a conscious effort to not trip. It’s learned very quickly by most participants. The guide adjusts the route and speed for the slowest and least athletic individual.

Reservation Minimum
2 People
Location
Hicks Creek Facility

38100 W Glenn Highway, Glacier View, AK 99674 *Mile 96

Dates
May 25 – September 20, 2021
age Limit
AGES 9 – 70
Language Requirement
English
Max. Size/Weight/Height
250 Lbs, and 6 Ft. 6 Inches, Girth 50 Inches
Min. Shoe Size
5 US Men/ 7 US Women

(to fit our provided boots and gear properly.)

Check-in Time
9:30am and 2:30pm
Duration

Approximately 2+ Hours on the glacier and 3+ Hours total.

Discounts

Groups of 10 or more people recieve (10+) Discount of 10% off. Local Alaskans with proof of State issued ID at tour check-in receive a 10% single discount off the individual tour price.

Make it a COMBO: Add a whitewater rafting trip and save $20 per person on your second tour! This glacier tour is located in the same area of Alaska as our ‘Lionshead’ rafting tour, great for same day combos.

NO EXPERIENCE NECESSARY!

It’s not every day one can take a leisurely hike along the base of a 26-mile long advancing valley glacier. See the wonder and marvel of one of Alaska’s most accessible glaciers by foot with NOVA’s popular Glacier Tour. You’ll be outfitted with the necessary gear and transported by vehicle to the glacier terminus at the front of the park. Our experienced guides will inform and guide you through the rock fields of the large terminal moraine and on to the impressive ‘Ice Falls’ area of the Matanuska Glacier. This expanse of dense glacier ice naturally falls over the submerged rock deposit underneath it and reflects back up, creating jagged upward spire formations otherwise known as seracs. There is a small lake at the front of the ‘Ice Falls’ that is the creation point for the water that feeds a powerful river just downstream. Along the way, there are constant views and evolving glacier features to check out. Erratics, flowing moulins and deep crevasses of this glacier create an ever evolving landscape with active geology all around. This is a fantastic tour for families or groups with mixed abilities and comforts.

Depending on the group’s abilities, fitness and relationship. The Glacier Tour is usually a 1:6 guide-to-client ratio, with multiple guides on larger tours. This is an easy rudimentary walk/hike with basic variable glacier terrain and features such as slippery rocks and ice. For those wanting more of a challenge on the glacier, check out our ‘Adventure Trek’ tour. Be sure to bring your water bottle to fill and drink some Glacier water! Along with a camera, jacket and sunglasses!

NOVA provides all glacier tours and equipment based on your physical abilities, condition and desire to walk or hike. See below for details on equipment.

For all ages, seniors and children minimum age of 9 years or older:

NOVA has small metal chain link traction devices called ‘creepers’ that can also be used with your own (above ankle support) rigid sole hiking boots by attaching to the bottom with rubber. We can provide groups with hiking boots for those without them.

 

  • Waterways and weather can sometimes be cold in Alaska. Please, dress appropriately or bring along some warm synthetic layers and socks for your tour comfort. Cotton layers are not preferred in cold environments or when wet. This is Alaska.
  • Please bring a raincoat and your own warm comfortable layers for out on the ice. Once you are traveling on the glacier, restroom breaks are difficult to accommodate, please consider facilities pre-trip.
DEPARTS FROM: HICKS CREEK, MAT-SU VALLEY

38100 W Glenn Highway, Glacier View, AK 99674

Located 96 miles north of Anchorage, this is the staging area for all Matanuska glacier and river trips.

*GLACIER PARK Entrance fee

Matanuska Glacier Park is privately owned and charges per person every time you go through the gate; Alaska State passes do not apply. Regular 2021 entry fee at gate is $30 per person; but NOVA clientele receive a discounted rate, which is added to the cost of your tour. This outfit has a NO DRONE policy in place for the glacier.

  • Child <13: $10
  • Teens (13-16): $15
  • Adults (18+): $25
  • Alaska Residents, Military and Seniors (65+): $20
  • NOVA is an advocate and steward for keeping wild places in Alaska wild. Please follow responsible travel and ‘leave no trace’ ethics when visiting these amazing places.
  • NOVA tours operate regardless of most weather conditions, we go rain or shine in Alaska.
    Glaciers and weather can sometimes be cold in Alaska. Please, dress appropriately or bring along a raincoat with warm synthetic layers and socks for your tour comfort. Cotton layers are not preferred in cold environments or when wet.
  • NOVA does not offer any tours that travel through or under ice caves in the warm summer months.
  • Glaciers are very active in summer and caves are unsafe and should be avoided for potential cave collapse. Caves are not always present or accessible and should only be approached with caution, preferably in winter when they are the most stable.
  • Once you are traveling on the glacier, restroom breaks are difficult to accommodate so please consider facilities pre-trip.
Inherent Risks

There are inherent risks associated with glacier travel and outdoor activities that everyone must accept and understand. Variable terrain, sharp rocks, slippery ice, and changing weather are common. Some safety hazards will always exist and are beyond human control. Such as major cleaving and shifting, falling ceracs, open crevasses and draining moulins can be dangerous and deadly. Rescue in these environments and features is not only technical and difficult but in some cases not possible at all. Safety standards are in place for these reasons and must be followed. Guides manage risk by interpreting terrain and recognizing hazards that average hikers and guests are unaware of. Many traveling on the ice have a false sense of security because of the friendly inviting nature of the glacier and its moraines. Individuals traveling on the glacier without guides should possess the proper knowledge, experience, and equipment.

**All participants on all our tours must follow our guidelines, procedures and sign a waiver. Only parents or legal guardians may sign for youth minors. We do not allow infants on our tours. We do not allow pets on our tours.

You may preview or pre-sign our waiver document, by clicking here.

COvid-19 Update

Please bring your personal face mask for tour office check-in and vehicle transport. We do require Social Distancing to the best of your groups ability, when possible. Try to build reservations and bookings as one household to minimize exposure, if possible. Consent may be gained or required to mix with other non-household members during tours unless PRIVATE tour is booked. For more questions contact our office.

*You are not required to wear your mask during the trip on the Glacier.

Matanuska Glacier Tour

book now

|

Rave Reviews

Testimonials

We had a very pleasant and informative hike with Mattie and Carson on the Matanuska glacier. The glacier was awe-inspiring and made more interesting by the information provided by our Nova Guides. Taking a guided hike to the glacier is definitely the way to see it!

Gregory M.  | Trip date: July 2020

We loved our 3-hour glacier hike with the amazing guide, Maddie. We had the glacier to ourselves as we were the only group out on the glacier at 7 PM. Maddie shared interesting facts about the glacier, taking us to different parts. The ice cave was definitely a surprise and highlight of our trip. Highly recommended when in Alaska!

Race | Trip date: July 2019

Best ever! Arnie and Maddie were beyond fantastic; experienced, knowledgeable, and fun. We hiked further into the glacier than expected and saw amazing views, while learning and laughing! Highly recommend!

Flynn T.  | Trip date:  September 2020